the daily grind

today is the first day back to school.

last night i carefully calculated my 8 hours of sleep, but once i hit the pillow, i did not fade to black as per usual. i have an uncanny ability to fall asleep almost immediately after resting me head upon the fluff of down feathers, but last night i could not catch a wink of sleep. i fear that planning my beauty rest jinxed myself. it has taken me almost 25 years of my life to realize that a full 8 hours of sleep is amazing, and truly necessary. on most occasions i get about 7, which is close enough for me. little under a year ago, i was managing on about 4-6 hours of rest, but once i committed to the idea of getting more sleep, i could never go back to a measly 5 hours. i have learned to leave things undone, so that i may make it to an appropriate bedtime. i used to not be able to fall asleep until everything was in place: dishes done, laundry put away, homework finished, work organized, etc. etc…  then i realized i will be here the next day to wake up and put it away, or finish whatever wasn’t deemed urgent.

without my prerequisite of sleep, i have been unable to be bright eyed and bushy tailed as i planned. i am back to the daily grind of work and school. working full time and attending school full time is a rough day. but i have done if for the last couple years, and i am almost done! huzzah! 3 semesters left. [i hope].  i never knew the meaning of hard work until i had to do both school and work to support myself. i am really sort of glad that i do both. it will make me appreciate when i have a job, in which it is the only main thing to occupy my day. even on break, i was sort of excited to have time away from class because i was able to get other things accomplished, without feeling rushed every day.  my days are usually 12 hours long, so any free time i have is usually well after 7pm. it makes it very hard to be as social as i would like to be, or to engage in other affairs i enjoy, like knitting/crocheting or reading or painting. those activities are left for breaks.  sundays are my days to revel in my idleness. i sleep in, make breakfast, do my crosswords and can take my time doing household chores.  no rush to do anything. i love sundays. i live for sundays.

but today is monday, and now sunday is so far away. i will say that i am sort of excited for this monday. i have always been secretly excited about school starting. i say that i am not, because i do not want to commit myself to long hours of work and school, but i am always really excited for the first day of class. the introductory class period is always fun, and usually you can expect to not have any homework. we go over the syllabus, and participate in some sort of “introduce yourself” activity. i always like when people have to tell us something interesting about themselves. most people say things like, my favorite color is purple, or i enjoy playing soccer. how un-imaginative. i like to tell absurd lies, just to see who is really that gullible. i think this year i will state that i am a cage fighter in an obscure women’s league. i think my favorite lie was telling people i am related to kim jong-il in my life drawing class. not a single person doubted me. ha. fools. i am not sure why i enjoy these elaborate lies, as i hate liars in general. i mean i cannot stand it when people are constantly lying, but i find big mythical lies to be quite humorous. i do think its a wee bit naughty to play my fellow students like fools, but usually the classmates i like are the ones who can detect the bullshit.

if anyone knows me well enough they can usually spot my lie. i have many tells. for instance, i stop breathing. i sort of hold my breath a bit right before i expel an untruth. i wont tell you my other signals, but there are many. i am not usually good at lying to friends and family, but have no problem telling strangers tall tales. [ not that this is something i do alot. just to get a kick every now and again. my usual instance occurs on the first day of the semester]

funny that i enjoy this, because i am quite the gullible person myself. i have a friend who has the ability to make me and several other friends believe every word that tumbles from his lips. usually invoking a response of, “really?!” or, “no way! crazy.”  i should probably resist the urge to believe anything dear friend alan says.  he is not a pathological liar or a bad liar in any way. he is just poking fun. but he gets us every time.  and every time we sigh and say, “oh man, i cant believe i believed you.” jokes on us. today the joke will be on a classroom of about 30 students.

here’s hoping i get the chance to use this concocted “interesting fact” this semester.

and here’s hoping your monday is also full of fun and hijinks.

cheers, my lovelies! have a grand day.

~ by catlady1027meow on January 11, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
